WritersWeekly.com :: View topic - Freelance Work Exchange / Go Freelance / GoFreelance.com

Books & Courses | Articles | Warnings | Markets | Forum | Search | Home

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch    RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Statements appearing in these forums represent the opinions of the authors of each
post,
not the opinion of WritersWeekly.com and/or Booklocker.com.


Freelance Work Exchange / Go Freelance / GoFreelance.com

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WritersWeekly.com Forum Index -> Whispers and Warnings
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
angelahoy



Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:41 am    Post subject: Freelance Work Exchange / Go Freelance / GoFreelance.com Reply with quote

UPDATE: Freelance Work Exchange has changed their name to Go Freelance / GoFreelance.com. Funny how companies with lots of complaints always seem to change their names!!

~~~~~

Hey Angela,

I've been reading on your site for the past few weeks about the complaints
you've received about Freelance Work Exchange. Well, I applied for a job
that was listed at CraigsList.org and got the following response from
someone supposedly from the HR dept. of the company that advertised this
position for a phsycological evaluation proofreader. The link he insserted
in his email took me to the FWE website, where I was asked to insert my
email dress that told me I could then search the site for free. However,
when I submitted my email address, I was taken to a page that prompted me
to pay them $2.95, etc. Following his email is the response I emailed back
to him. It looks like this bunch is being quite sneaky about getting
people to their site. In fact, I think I maybe got this "job" possibility
from your newsletter. I guess you can't take the ads at CraigsList as
legitimate anymore, with the FWE bunch using these kinds of tactics. Just
wanted to warn everyone.

Susan

~~~~~

----- Original Message -----
From: "Human Resources Dept." <hrdept@pt-net.net>
Sent: Saturday, June 17, 2006 12:15 PM
Subject: Re: Psychological Evaluation Proofreader


> Thank you for your interest in our proofreading position.
> Please read the full job description below:
>
> "A proofreader is needed to proofread and edit psychological
> evaluations. You will need to check for grammatical errors and
> problems with sentence construction. All names on the report
> will be changed. You should have some previous experience in
> editing and proofing documents."
>
> You can apply to this position by visiting the Freelance Work
> Exchange web site. To register, please go to the following URL:
>
> [URL REMOVED FOR PUBLICATION HERE]
>
> Thanks,
> Dave

~~~~~

MY RESPONSE:

Hello Dave,

As far as I am concerned, I have applied for the position, since I sent
you my cover letter/resume in response to an ad at CraigsList.org. I am a
bit puzzled as to the link that takes me to a page that wants my email
address saying that it's free to search the jobs and then takes me to yet
another page that wants a payment. My policy is that I do not pay clients to let
me apply for a job with them. I have heard numerous bad reports about
FreelanceWorkExchange and do not care to do business with them. In fact,
I wonder whether this ad was placed on CraigsList simply to get people to
pay to sign up at FWE to find work. If that is the case, I would prefer no
further contact. Please remove my email address from your database.

Thank you.

Susan P.
Freelance Writer/Editor


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
angelahoy



Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also see:

http://www.writersweekly.com/whispers_and_warnings/freelance-work-exchange.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
angelahoy



Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EMAIL SENT IN BY WRITERSWEEKLY READER:

Hi Angela.

Just thought I would let you know that FWE is still using job
boards, such as Craig's List to post jobs and when you apply, they send
you a link to sign up. This one was for "babyage article writers" and when you follow
the link it takes you to Freelance Work Exchange where you can't even view
any of the available jobs without paying first.

It's really a sneaky (and irritating) way of getting people to their site
and trying to get people to pay. I didn't even respond to them but I am
definitely sending that email address in as spam. Just thought I would
warn other writers to watch out for "Babyage Article Writer" ads. I'm sure they have
a lot of others with different titles out there, too.

Thanks!
Joni

NOTE FROM WRITERSWEEKLY:

CraigsList is very good about removing naughty ads. Simply click on the link at the top of an ad on the craigslist site to report it as spam, fraud, etc. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
angelahoy



Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 4:36 pm    Post subject: One reader sends in positive experience Reply with quote

From: "Linda.S.Kleinschmidt"
Subject: Re: WritersWeekly.com: 06/21/06 - Is Angela Still Pregnant?!?
Date sent: Mon, 26 Jun 2006 14:34:50 -0400 (GMT-04:00)

Hi Angela,

I saw that you had yet another reader who has complains about Freelance
WorkExchange.com. I've seen these entries before and assumed that folks
were simply not getting any jobs through the site and thus were unhappy.
Now I have to respond with a good report on this group. I've been a
freelance member with them for nearly 5 years and have had good response
overall. Specifically, one company I found there I have contracted with
as a technical editor for the past 4 years. The company just renewed my
contract again. The company has provided me with major income (close to
$40,000 to date. It is a very well respected major international company
with major corporate clients and a pleasure to work with. For me anyway,
investing under $30 a month to gain that kind of income result has been
well it. I also have had no problems contacting the site manager when
I've had password issues or inquiring about payment when there has been
confusion re cost of the service. I'm puzzled why others are having so
many problems. I do know it takes both patience and persistence to get
good responses in any freelance venture, and there are always
someglitches. You just have to be reasonable, flow with the situation, and
communicate persistently and precisely when problems do arise.

Linda K.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
angelahoy



Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:55 am    Post subject: ANOTHER COMPLAINT about Freelance Work Exchange Reply with quote

ANOTHER COMPLAINT

From: "T. Broun
To: Angela Hoy
Subject: Contact - Australian writer querying about Freelance Work
Exchange
Date sent: Fri, 8 Dec 2006 13:01:20 +1100

Hi Angela,

I'm a writer from Australia. I've signed up with Freelance Work
Exchange to get writing work as of this past Tuesday. The initial seven-day
trial cost 2.95 and thereafter if one thinks it's worthwhile, it will cost
29.95 per month to remain a member eligible to access jobs that are
listed on the site.

Inadvertantly, I paid for the intial cost twice. Since Tuesday, I have
been unable to access or login and I can't access jobs listed.

I've emailed via the official contact of the site and have heard
nothing since, which to me is extremely unsatisfactory since that was over
three days ago.

I was wondering if you have any dealings or knowledge of whether this
site is legit, as I'm beginning to think that they are just stretching
out the seven days so that automatically those seven days will be
chewed up in time wasting to automatically get the monthly payment. I plan to
cancel membership if I have heard nothing from them within the next 48
hours.

If you could suggest some legitimate sites to approach for freelance
work, I'd appreciate that.

Kind regards,

T. Broun

ON DECEMBER 9, 2006, WRITERSWEEKLY SENT THE WRITER A LINK TO THIS FORUM.

WRITER SENDS UPDATE

From: T. Broun
To: Angela Hoy
Subject: Re: Contact - Australian writer querying about Freelance Work Exchange
Date sent: Tue, 12 Dec 2006 00:03:36 +1100

Hi Angela,

Just to let you know that I've hear nada from Freelance Work Exchange
regarding my complaint and several follow-up emails. I even emailed Rob
Palmer after canceling post-haste, my subscription (the so-called brains
behind the FWE), Paypal, etc. And surprise, surprise, no reply from Rob.

Had I not unsubscribed, these cretins (FWE) would have just deducted
further monies from me without even lifting a finger to help in any way or form. I
say tar and feather these people if that's how they do business. And if
they were in my vicinity, I'd punch them in the nose.

This a warning to others, about the utmost in service inefficiency--do not
accept it. If one experiences technical trouble and assistance is not
forthcoming within 24 to 48 hours online, you can be sure that there's
something fishy.

I plan to tell everybody I know that Freelance Work Exchange is a no-go
zone.

Thanks Angela for your reply in the first instance.

Cheers,

T. Broun
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WritersWeekly.com Forum Index -> Whispers and Warnings All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group